Meet The Team

The new AADA board is managed by an inspired team with real automotive dealership experience and expertise.

There’s now a member of the board from each Australian state and territory, along with four independently elected Dealers, making up a total of twelve national representatives. What’s perhaps most important about this new board is that the AADA now has input from all sectors of the Dealer community – from small rural dealerships to large metro operations, including AP Eagers and AHG.

The key board members are:


Ian Field – Chairman

Ian made his name in new car sales after starting in the automotive industry as a Lube Attendant in 1962. Today, he is the chairman of a number of businesses and a leader in automotive industry policy. The Chief Executive Officer of MTA Queensland, Ian brings a wealth of experience to his role with the AADA.


Patrick Tessier – CEO

With a proven track record as the long-standing CEO of the AADA National Dealer Convention, Patrick has extended his involvement with the AADA in his new role as CEO. Drawing on over 30 years of experience, Patrick is focused on reinvigorating the entire Association and providing an outstanding experience for members.


Steve Ghost – Strategic Operations Manager

With over 25 years of experience in educating and training, Steve has expansive knowledge in developing training programs which help automotive employers get the best out of their staff. He has also held positions at Yeronga TAFE and the Canberra Institute of Technology. Steve’s involvement as the Managing Director of Strategic Operations with the MTA puts him in good stead to achieve success in his role with the AADA.


Michael Deed – Policy Director

Michael’s considerable experience includes policy and legislation for a major department in Canberra and over 20 years experience in leading professional accounting firms in the world. He has a proven ability to identify, evaluate and articulate emerging policy issues and will be a valuable member of the rejuvenated AADA. This will further the interests of all Australian car dealers by striving for a fair trading environment that benefits all stakeholders. Michael is married with three children who
all work in the business.


Paul Moni – Secretary

Paul has extensive experience across a range of industries including professional services to large motor dealers. A chartered accountant, Paul has worked with big names like Coopers & Lybrand (now PricewaterhouseCoopers) and is the former Director and National Accounting Adviser at ASIC. He is currently an independent Director/Chairman of a number of unlisted public and large private companies as well as a member of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committees of an ASX listed company. Paul is also an advisory board member to a number of large private companies with overseas operations.

Board members include

Leigh Smith – Victoria
Michael Tynan OAM – New South Wales
Garth Madill – Queensland
Colin Lane – Western Australia
Hillar Puvi – South Australia
Marcus Birrell – Tasmania
Richard Rolfe OAM – ACT
Dave Russell – Northern Territory
Martin Ward – Independent
Geoff Pickering – Independent
Michael Claridge – Independent
Legal Advisers – HWL Ebsworth
Business Advisers – BDO Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *